In this article we cover-

  1. How Rise cancels rewards that were refunded through the Rise's and Shopify's refund modules.
  2. What happens if the customer already used the store credit.
  3. How Rise returns rewards for orders where store credit was applied to.

Check out this video and our explanation below:

Canceling rewards

The store credit reward your customers received from a certain order, will automatically be canceled once that order is refunded through Shopify or Rise. Meaning, the credit the customer received will be deducted from the customer's loyalty code (if they had credit prior to the order, this credit won't be deducted).

Please note that even if the order was partially refunded, the entire amount of store credit given from the order will be canceled, regardless of how much was actually refunded.

If you'd like to add back a certain amount of credit, you can do so by going to your Rise dashboard -> Customers tab, search for the customer and adjust their balance to whichever value you'd like.

If the reward was a limited store credit reward, the reward will not be canceled!

If the customer already used the store credit

If the customer has already used the store credit they've received on the order that you issued a refund on, the following will happen-

  1. If they used only part of the credit, the maximum amount will be deducted.
  2. They will be tagged with a Shopify tag as 'Fraud'

The fraud tag will allow you to find customers who have potentially used the rewards to commit fraud, and then you can decide if you'd like to exclude these customers from receiving future rewards.

To exclude customers with the Fraud tag from receiving rewards, simply add a tag condition to your workflow -

Pro Tip- If you'd like to reduce the chances of customers using store credit they've received on refunded orders, you can choose to create 'delayed rewards'.

With this option, you can make sure the reward is sent only after the period of time in which the customer can request a refund for their item. If the order is refunded during this time, the reward will not be sent out, thus avoiding the possibility of customers using rewards they've received for refunded orders.

To set this up, go to your Rise dashboard -> Loyalty & Rewards tab. Here, edit the Workflow that is active in your store, and insert the 'delayed reward' action. Here you can edit the number of days you'd like to pass before the reward is sent to the customer.

Make sure the delayed reward action comes before any other action you have in your workflow, and make sure to add it to each tier!

Returning rewards

If a customer applied store credit to an order, and that order is refunded, the store credit will be re-loaded on to their loyalty card code.

If the order was partially refunded, the refunded amount will first be returned to the store credit applied to the order, and then to the other payment method.

Note that if a customer used limited store credit on their order, this will not be returned.

Got any feature requests?

Feel free to add them to this feature request form.

Have more questions?

Feel free to contact us at [email protected] or in the chat box

Did this answer your question?